“I do not need freedom when I´m dead” (Langston Hughes)


twitter: @eugenio_fouz

soldier kiss tainn

I have been reading a collection of poems written by Langston Hughes. I like his poetry. He writes about the rights of the Negroes in America, he writes about solitude and love. In some of my writings I quote some of his verses. I remember one “I am the darker brother”. I sometimes feel like that, like the ugly duckling of the fairy tale.

***

DEMOCRACY (by Langston Hughes)

“Democracy will not come

Today, this year

Nor ever

Through compromise and fear

 

 

I have as much right

As the other fellow has

To stand

On my two feet

And own the land

 

I tire so of hearing people say,

Let things take their course

Tomorrow is another day

I do not need freedom when I’ m dead

I cannot live on tomorrow’ s bread

 

Freedom

Is a strong seed

Planted

In a great need

 

I want freedom

Just as you”

***

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

