Poetry Day UK (thank you, Pearson Books)


twitter: @eugenio_fouz

Imagen

You know, I am much more of a twitterman than a facebookman, however the other day (Monday, I think it was) I came across some information about a Poetry Day in the UK (1) shared by Pearson Books (@pearson). There were 5 options to celebrate that day which is today, Thursday. I have chosen the point 1.

Here you are the poem Morning After written by Langston Hughes. Although it is a humourous poem in tone and despite its mock on a snoring woman, I love one verse included in there. Do you happen to know which verse I am talking about?

(1)(@PoetryDayUK on Twitter)

***

Morning After

by

Langston Hughes

“I was so sick last night I  

Didn’t hardly know my mind.

So sick last night I

Didn’t know my mind.

I drunk some bad licker that  

Almost made me blind.

 

Had a dream last night I  

Thought I was in hell.  

I drempt last night I  

Thought I was in hell.

Woke up and looked around me—

Babe, your mouth was open like a well.

 

I said, Baby! Baby!

Please don’t snore so loud.  

Baby! Please!

Please don’t snore so loud.

You jest a little bit o’ woman but you  

Sound like a great big crowd.” 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

